What can ByebyeData Eraser Erase?
With ByebyeData Eraser, you can:
- Erase unlimited files
- Erase unlimited folders
- Erase the free space on each drive
- Erase previously deleted files
- Erase entire drives including the system drive
- Erase entire disks including the boot disk
- Erase any external hard drives
- Erase USB drives, SD card and other readable storages.
Q: I quit ByebyeData Eraser before it finished. Have they been erased?
That depends on which edition feature you’ve used, check the following:
Erase files and folder: You can check the folder you added to the erase list, all files left behind are not erased, if you cannot see them here, they have been wiped.
Erase free space: You cannot tell which drive’s free space has been wiped until you turn to some Hexadecimal system editor, or some data recovery programs, which is simpler. Run the data recovery software, if you can track any deleted files from it, then the free space is not erased when you quite ByebyeData Eraser.
Erase entire drive: Erased drives cannot be found by Windows file explorer, so press Windows + E to open it and if the partition is still listed here, it not wiped. Or just open Disk management, the wiped drives will show as unallocated space in the previous area.
Erase entire disk: If the entire disk is erased, it shows unallocated space too in the Disk management tool, but the result is the same when wiped it to 10% or 90%, all the drive letters are wiped first and it’s best to wipe the disk again if you can get data back from data recovery programs.
So, the advice here is to do the wipe operation when the computer is free, say, wipe it before you sleep, or just find a weekend to finish this job, since wiping is not like deleting or formatting, it overwrites sectors one by one instead of just deleting the references of data, so it will take much longer time then simple deletion, even the simple overwrite methods, one-pass overwriting plans will consume some time.