Shift + Delete data can be recovered?
Is it possible to recover data if it gets erased using Shift + Delete?
I just deleted my files using Shift+Delete instead of simple press the Delete button, I wonder if files are really permanently deleted like the warning message said.
Yes, data deleted by Shift+Delete buttons can still be recovered, although Windows said it’s permanently deletes files by using this shortcut, it isn’t.
Normally, when you press the delete button or choose the delete option from the right-click menu to delete files, they go to the recycle bin first (You can change this to directly delete without putting it to recycle bin.), then empty it to clean delete files. By doing this, you’re deleting only the references of files not the contents, so recovery programs can get them back by scanning the contents left in all the sectors.
Shift + Delete shortcut is more likely to skip the recycle bin step and it deletes still the references instead of contents, which makes recovery software being able to track all the traces and retrieve data.
How can I permanently delete data? I mean, really delete.
Overwrite is to fill sectors will meaning less binary 1s and 0s, no matter it’s the reference or the content of a file, the overwrite operation will just fill all the sectors of the file with binary characters.
How to overwrite data?
Windows doesn’t have default tool to overwrite files, folders, drives, or disks, but there’re many programs out there can do so, some may have complete functions to wipe data clean, ByebyeData Eraser is one of such programs, Download it, install and Run it as administrator.
In the main interface of the data sanitization software, functions like Erase files and folders, free space, entire drive and Erase entire disk are all available. Take erasing a file in Windows 10 installed hard drive for example, we can do as follow:
1. Find an image file in Windows Explorer (Windows + E) and press Shift+Delete to ‘permanently delete’ it.
2. Download Recuva, the data recovery program, install in and scan the drive you which the deleted image was on. Then you can recover the file again. (That’s why you don’t use the shift+delete buttons to secure wipe data if you want to get rid of the hard drive.)
3. Then run ByebyeData Eraser and Add this image file to the erase list, select a wiping plan, or the overwrite method, which is about to overwrite the file with you-specified-passes, one pass is to overwrite the file for once (and that’s enough to wipe clean data), 3-pass is to overwrite the file for 3 times (like the DoD 5220.22-M standards), then click the Erase Now button and confirm.
4. Run Recuva and scan this area again to find if it can still recover the image we erased.
Note: Erasing takes much time than deleting files, so if you’re using the computer for yourself and no one has authority to go through your documents, you can use the delete button or the format function to free up disk space instead of erasing them.
But when you're about to donate or sell the old computer, it’s better to erase it first and erase it when on your idle time.